Patterson Belknap Announces Leadership Transition

April 20, 2017

Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP is pleased to announce that the Firm has elected Peter W. Tomlinson as Co-Chair, effective immediately. He succeeds William F. Cavanaugh Jr., who served as Co-Chair for the past ten years. In addition, Lisa E. Cleary has been re-elected as Co-Chair and Managing Partner of the Firm for an additional term.  

Peter Tomlinson has played an integral role in the Firm’s Litigation Department, serving as Co-Chair of the Structured Finance Litigation Team and leading several of the Firm’s largest residential mortgage-backed securities (RMBS) litigations on behalf of monoline insurers and hedge funds. He has served on the Firm’s Management Committee since 2013, and serves as Co-Chair of the Firm’s Pro Bono and Flexible Work Arrangement Committees.

Lisa Cleary leads the firm’s Employment Law practice, advising corporations and tax-exempt organization clients on employment issues related to their highest level executives and other key employees. She chaired the Firm’s Pro Bono Committee from 1994 until 2014, when she was first elected as Co-Chair and Managing Partner of the Firm.

Ms. Cleary said, “Peter has been a leader within the Litigation Department and our Firm for years. His deep commitment to our attorneys, staff, and clients will ensure that the Firm continues to provide the highest quality legal representation and service to our clients and to our community. We are grateful to Bill Cavanaugh for his ten years of exceptional service and leadership as Co-Chair.  Bill was unwavering in his efforts to ensure that the Firm’s core values of excellence in legal representation of our clients and service to our community through the Firm’s nationally-recognized pro bono practice continue to drive our efforts and our success.”

Ms. Cleary is the third woman to serve as Managing Partner of Patterson Belknap. Antonia M. Grumbach served as Managing Partner from 1990 – 1996 and Rochelle Korman served as Managing Partner from 2002 – 2007.